Acceptance

http://lauriesgarden.files.wordpress.com/2011/07/acceptance-testing.jpg

“What is acceptance?  Acceptance is surrendering to what is.  Before we can change anything in our life we have to recognize that this is the way it’s meant to be right now.  For me, acceptance has become what I call the long sigh of the soul. It ‘s the closed eyes in prayer, perhaps even the quiet tears.  It’s “all right,” as in “All right, You lead, I’ll follow”.  This is the simple part of the journey.

Over the years I have discovered that much of my struggle to be content despite outside circumstances has arisen when I stubbornly resisted what was actually happening in my life at the present moment.  But I have also learned that when I surrender to the reality of a particular situation–when I don’t continue to resist, but accept–a softening in my soul occurs.  Suddenly I am able to open up to receive all the goodness and abundance available to me because acceptance brings with it so much relief and release.  It’s as if the steam of struggle has been allowed to escape from life’s pressure cooker.

Acceptance also illuminates reality so that we’re better able to see the next step.”

Sarah Ban Breathnach

One response

  1. Acceptance is a big pill to swallow. Sometimes the process of the pill going down my throat lingers and makes me cry. It’s like I can’t drink enough water to push it through my windpipe and to my stomach where it will eventually be dissolved. So I call out to God.

    Like

Leave a Reply

