Am I Truly Alone?

“When the Messiah was executed on the stake as a criminal, I was too; so that my proud ego no longer lives. But the Messiah lives in me, and the life I now live in my body I live by the same trusting faithfulness that the Son of God had, who loved me and gave himself up for me.” Galatians 2:30 CJB

Christ in me.  I was reminded of that very thing this morning.  Christ lives in me.  For so long my total focus has been on the loss of my husband – the loss of the dearest relationship to me on earth – and the loss of my parents and that relationship as a daughter with my parents.  But, the fact is, I have not lost the most important relationship in my life – that relationship of God and me.

Everything I need for this day has already been fully prepared because God is in control of my life.  Today I will not be dealing with anything at all by myself.  It is all about God living His life through me.  Christ in me.

That truth is very easy for me to forget in my grief.  I have become very self-centered in my thoughts.  It is all about my losses, my “how am I going to live without him”, and my “how I am going to deal with the rest of my life alone”.  I get lost in all of that.  Life becomes all about me instead of being all about God and the fact that He is in me because I accepted Him as my personal Savior fifty years ago.

If I truly believe what the Bible says, then I believe that Christ is in me living His life through me.  And, in doing that, I will believe that God is the sum total of everything I need in my life without my husband.  It is all about surrendering my will to God.  I must do that because I know that I cannot live this life by myself.

Am I really and truly all alone now?  No, I am not.

God, I know this truth in my head because I believe that the Bible is true.  Right now my heart is so broken over the loss of my husband that I am having a very hard time really “getting” the fact that You are living in me and I am not doing one thing alone today.  Help that truth to get from my head down into my heart so that I can truly KNOW that I am not alone now.

Leave a Reply

