In the Waiting

I am finding myself becoming impatient in waiting for God to show me what it is that I am supposed to do with the rest of my life.  Today I received a reminder about this that made an impression on me.  Some years ago my husband allowed me to buy stock in an oil company that is drilling for oil over in Israel.  I am not normally a risk taker, but for some reason I felt compelled to invest.  The reminder I am speaking of came from Zion Oil & Gas Company’s chairman of the board and founder John Brown  as they continue to drill and wait to strike oil.

We must be patient in our trial of waiting for God (James 1:3,4) for it is written in the Bible that God tests our faith in different ways:

(1) By a strange plan of campaign. (Joshua 6:3)

(2) By reducing a general’s army. (Judges 7:7)

(3) By requiring dependence upon a poor widow. (I Kings 17:9)

(4) By demanding the last morsel of bread. (I Kings 17:13)

(5) By requiring what appeared to be useless work (2 Kings 3:16)

(6) By requiring extensive preparation; with no blessing in sight. (2 Kings 4:3)

Are you finding yourself becoming frustrated and ready to throw in the towel in your waiting to figure out what it is that God has for you now that you are a widow?


Leave a Reply

