Come Up Higher

“As an eagle stirs up her nest, flutters over her young, spreads wide her wings, takes them, bears them on her wings: so the Lord alone did lead him…”  Deuteronomy 32:11-12a

As a widow I have come to a place where it is time to decide whether I am going to stay where I am spiritually or move on up higher in the intimacy of God’s presence  finding my identity in Him.  I am struggling with this because I want to hold on to my life as it was.  It was a comfortable life that I was used to where I felt very safe and secure.  I was so cared for and loved.  But, that life is gone now and whether I wanted it to or not, my life has completely changed.

This morning I read a story about a farmer who found an eagle egg.  He took it to the hen house and placed it in with the other eggs of a setting hen.  In time all of the eggs hatched and one was the oddest looking chicken the hen had ever seen.  While the other chicks chirped, this one would screech.  When the mother hen clucked, all but this strange looking one would come running.  There simply seemed to be no understanding  between them.  They spoke two different languages.  He was an eagle who was trying to live a chicken life.

One day while he was in the barn yard, a huge shadow passed over him.  It was the father eagle soaring high above.  Father eagle looked down and saw the little eaglet.  He swooped down giving a loud screech.  The little eaglet looked up and father eagle said, “What are you doing down there?  You’re not a chicken.  You’re an eagle.  Eagles aren’t made for barnyard living.  The sky is your domain.  Come up here.”

Now the little fellow wondered what to do.  Up to now, the barn yard had been his home, but he just didn’t seem to fit in.  All of a sudden the truth of who he was hit him.  He discovered that he was no longer a chicken.  He was an eagle. Deep inside him he felt the urge to respond to the father eagle, but when he tried, he couldn’t seem to get off the ground.

Father eagle screeched again, ”Just make a jump and flap your wings.  You can fly if you try.”   The little eaglet made a feeble jump, flapped his wings and landed on top of the barn yard fence post.

Father eagle screeched again, “Child, jump higher.  Try again.  Make the jump and I’ll sweep under you and carry you on my wings.”

The little eaglet did what his father asked him to do and father eagle did what he said he would do.  A mighty jump of faith and the little eaglet was riding on father eagle’s wings on his first solo flight into the beautiful blue sky.

Oh God, you have stirred up my nest and I am no longer a wife but a widow.  I do not want to be in this place at all and I am fighting to accept this person that I so suddenly became.  I know that at some point I am going to have to choose to make a jump and flap my wings enough that You can sweep up under me and carry me on Your wings.  Help me when that time comes to have the strength to do that so that I can come up higher into intimacy with you and find my new identity.

2 responses

  1. Those who wait upon the Lord shall renew theiire Lo strength. They shalll mount up on wings like eagles. They shall run and not grow weary, they shall walk and not faint. Teach me Lord, teach me Lord to wait.

    Like

Leave a Reply

