A Mendicant of God

I stood a mendicant of God before His royal throne
And begged him for one priceless gift, which I could call my own.
I took the gift from out His hand, but as I would depart
I cried, “But Lord this is a thorn and it has pierced my heart.
This is a strange, a hurtful gift, which Thou hast given me.”
He said, “My child, I give good gifts and gave My best to thee.”
I took it home and though at first the cruel thorn hurt sore,
As long years passed I learned at last to love it more and more.
I learned He never gives a thorn without this added grace,
He takes the thorn to pin aside the veil which hides His face.

Martha Snell Nicholson

The following is an update on Steve Saint whose father was the missionary murdered by the Auca Indians.  He suffered a spinal cord injury some months ago while working on a new flying car for missionaries to use.  At the end he quotes the above poem and explains what it means to him.

2 responses

  1. This so touched my heart! I cried when I read this awesome poem and cried again when Steve quoted it! It has such Godly pause. And God also gave Steve a beautiful name, Saint, for that is surely what he is. His testimony is why, I think, God allows these thorns, but someday we will surely understand it all. He is a modern-day Job. Let’s all hang on to that faith and accept God’s plan for our lives.

    I am widowed now nearly a year. The pain is tremendous still, but God’s grace proves sufficient. My sweet husband, Jim, was sick and eventually disabled for years. I was his constant caretaker, along with God’s. Watching Steve struggle brought back a memory that Jim often said, “God has his reasons”. HE does. We just must have faith and trust Him….edging toward our eternal home with Him.

    Like

    • Regina, your loss is very fresh and I know that your pain is still so very, very deep. It’s just a matter of taking one moment at a time which is sometimes so hard to do when your heart hurts so badly. Being a constant caregiver for any length of time is so exhausting not only physically, but emotionally and even spiritually, but we did it because we loved our husbands so much.

      I, too, cried as I listened to Steve quote that poem. I printed it out and have it up on my refrigerator as a reminder for me to keep holding on to trust even though it is so very hard at times when we just don’t understand how God’s plan can be the best for us. Thank you for reading and for sharing your heart. Do you have any other widows around to encourage you?

      Like

Leave a Reply

