God’s Way

Chung-Min Kao was a Presbyterian minister who became a Taiwanese political prisoner for assisting participants in the Kaohsiung Incident in 1979.  He served four years, three months, and twenty-one days in prison from 1980-1984.  While there, Chung-Min wrote this poem.  Even though at this point I don’t understand it, I trust that someday I will.

God’s Way

I asked the Lord
for a bunch of fresh flowers
but instead he gave me an ugly cactus
with many thorns.

I asked the Lord
for some beautiful butterflies
but instead he gave me
many ugly and dreadful worms.

I was threatened.
I was disappointed.
I mourned.

But after many days,
suddenly,
I saw the cactus bloom
with many beautiful flowers.

And those worms
became beautiful butterflies
flying in the wind.

God’s way is the best way.

4 responses

  1. Thanks for this Candy – it causes me to be reminded that whatever God “gives” us He will redeem and turn to beauty – our job is in the waiting and resting and trusting. Blessings to you this day.

    Like

  2. Yes, the waiting, resting, trusting is very difficult. I believe that some parts of God’s plan for us we may never understand here on earth, but only when we get to Eternity with Him….only because our small brains are not capable of grasping His almighty ways. But He also knows each of us, our hearts, intimately. If not knowing or understanding is a heavy burden for us, He will help us cope with that uncertainty in His own way but to our awesome benefit, if we ask Him. This I believe.

    I’d like to share a funny story about me. One morning I was reading a story about a widow that asked God for a sign to assure her that her deceased husband was at peace and with Him. Suddenly a feather floated out of nowhere and landed on her lap. Since her late husband had been an avid bird watcher and bird enthusiast, she was overjoyed with the sign she believed God had sent her.

    After reading that, I said out loud to God as if sending a tiny prayer stating, “Dear Lord, though I have no doubt my sweet husband is now with You, it would be nice If I might have a feather, too?”. Needless to say, I had my eye peeled for that special feather for days. Several days went by and Sunday morning rolled around. I was getting dressed for church. I went to the front door to let my little dog out one more time before I left for church. All of a sudden a bird flew through the door into my living room! There it sat high up in the curtain rod! Shocked….I proppped open the door and tried to shoo it out. It flew around from spot to spot only a few minutes and promptly flew right back out the door it came in!

    I stood there stunned then remembered my request for a feather. I looked to the heavens and thanked God for my ‘sign’. HE sent me the whole bird! I think He was messing with me and maybe both He and my Jim were snickering? I don’t believe in coincidences….God’s plan is working all the time! And we all know how He cares for His birds! 🙂

    Again, I believe God sends us peace and hope in odd ways sometimes, meant just for us…if we will ask, believe, wait, rest, and trust.

    ReginaV

    Like

Leave a Reply

